A snippet

I thought I’d share a snippet from a current WIP.  It’s a first draft written in a genre I’ve never attempted before – I don’t even have a working title for it …

“I see her out of the corner of my eye, a woman wearing an emerald green Victorian dress walking through the crowd.  At first I assume she’s drumming up trade for a theatre production and look round to see if there are any more members of the troope, but see none.  I return my gaze to her.

She’s beautiful.  But it’s a hard, granite kind of beauty.  Her face is chiseled to perfection, her almond shaped eyes are cold and grey, like winter.  Her skin is flawless, almost luminous in its paleness.  Her lips, slightly parted, resemble a slash of blood.  I watch as her tongue licks those blood red lips, slowly, delicately, as though appreciating a tasty morsel.  Her lips stretch, ever so slightly, in a smile.  Her eyes flash, like ice.

Her gaze stays focussed straight ahead as she walks, slowly, through the crowd which parts to let her through, though her presence goes unnoticed as though she doesn’t exist.

As she walks her bustle sheds dust – the dust of the dead, the very long dead.  It is the dust of plague, of horror and despair, of nightmares, of evil incarnate.  She sniffs the air, licks her lips once more, and smiles in recognition.  She is a huntress, her name is ‘Revenge’, and she has come for me …”

 

Leave a comment